Tasman Forestry Ltd

Date established
Date closed
In 1981 three companies merged to form Tasman Forestry Ltd - the Kaingaroa Logging Company, Fletcher Forests Ltd & the Forestry Division of Tasman Pulp & Paper Company Ltd.

I982 A new corporate structure was announced for the Forest Industries Sector. The sector would now be called Tasman Forest Industries Ltd, which would be the effective holding company for the four major operating divisions in the sector; - Tasman Pulp & Paper Co Ltd, Tasman Forestry Ltd, Tasman Timber Ltd and Fletcher Wood Panels Ltd.

Directors of the new company were LC Ryan as MD and chief executive, I Clinkard company secretary, NB Darrow (planning and finance) and GD Mace (marketing). The directors of the major operating companies within the sector also became directors of Tasman Forest Industries Ltd, together with the chief operating executives of each activity - namely B Ashwin, GM Operations Tasman Pulp & Paper Co Ltd, R Usmar, GM Tasman Forestry Ltd, RE Parrott, GM Tasman Timber Ltd and G Ogilvie, GM Fletcher Wood Panels Ltd. The head office of Tasman Forest Industries was located in Auckland. BR Fuller became Financial Controller.

1983 The Forest Industries Sector was restructured into two sectors; Forestry and Wood Products Sector comprising of Tasman Forestry Ltd, Kaingaroa Logging Company, Tasman Timber Ltd, and Fletcher Wood Panels, and the Pulp And Paper Sector comprising Tasman Pulp & Paper Company.

1984 The Forestry and Woods Products Sector comprised Tasman Forestry Ltd, Fletcher Wood Panels, and Tasman Lumber Ltd

1985 Tasman Forestry Ltd announces the takeover of Forest Investments Ltd

The first group of forestry cadets graduate from Tasman Forestry's Tanemahuta scheme

Tasman Lumber and Fletcher Merchants acquire CE Daniell Ltd, a Masterton based saw-milling company and retailer of building supplies

Fletcher Challenge acquired 20,000 hectares of CNI forestry from NZFP

Rainbow Mountain sawmill (near Rotorua) is commissioned

The Tasman Accord, an arrangement between Tasman Forestry and the Ministry of Conservation to protect native birds and forests is signed.

1993 Fletcher Challenge share split into two divisions the Forestry Share Division, & the Ordinary Share Division which includes energy, building & paper sectors

Amalgamation of Tasman Forestry Limited, Tasman Lumber and Forbio to become Fletcher Challenge Forests